A Census gathers information on population and housing. In most Pacific countries and territories, a Census is carried out every 5 or 10 years. A Census is likely to be the most comprehensive survey a country carries out, as it covers each member of the population, rather than collecting data from a representative sample. Census data enable policy-makers to make informed and relevant decisions, based on current and projected trends.

Census Reports

Census Year Country / Territory Census Report Website Link
2014 New Caledonia zipNC_Census_14.zip2.14 MB  www.isee.nc 
2013 Tokelau zipTok_Pop_Count_13122.67 KB
2013 Wallis and Fortuna zipWF_Census_133.96 MB  statistique.wf
2012 Tuvalu    
2012 French Polynesia zipFP_Census_124.84 MB French Polynesia
2011 Cook Islands pdfCI_Census_113.87 MB Cook Islands
2011 Marshall Islands pdfMI_Census_1111.58 MB Marshall Islands
2011 Niue pdfNi_Census_201111.21 MB Niue
2011 Nauru pdfNa_Census_116.71 MB  Nauru
2011 Samoa pdfSa_Census_201129.95 MB  Samoa
2011 Tokelau pdfTok_Census_201112.46 MB Tokelau
2011  Tonga pdfTon_Census_20113.04 MB Tonga 
2010 CNMI pdfCNMI_Census_20106.03 MB CNMI
2010 Federated States of Micronesia pdfFSM_Census_2010401.35 KB Federated States of Micronesia
2010 Kiribati zipKi_Census_2010.zip7.85 MB  Kiribati
2009 New Caledonia pdfNC_Census_091.03 MB  New Caledonia
2009 Solomon Islands pdfSo_Census_094.33 MB Solomon Islands
2009 Vanuatu zipVa_Census_09 6.79 MB Vanuatu
2008 Wallis and Futuna zipWF_Census_08 179.73 KB Wallis and Futuna
2007 Fiji   Fiji
2007 French Polynesia zipFP_Census_0711.6 MB French Polynesia
2006 Cook Islands   Cook Islands
2006 Niue   Niue
2006  Tokelau   Tokelau
2006 Samoa   Samoa
2005 Kiribati   Kiribati
2005 Palau   Palau
2004 New Caledonia   New Caledonia
2003 Wallis and Futuna   Wallis and Futuna
2002 French Polynesia   French Polynesia
2002 Nauru   Nauru
2002 Tuvalu   Tuvalu
2001 Cook Islands   Cook Islands
2001 Niue   Niue
2001 Samoa   Samoa
2000 Federated States of Micronesia   Federated States of Micronesia
2000 Kiribati   Kiribati
2000 CNMI   CNMI
2000 Palau   Palau
2000 Papua New Guinea   Papua New Guinea
1999 Marshall Island   Marshall Island
1999 Solomon Islands   Solomon Islands
1999 Vanuatu   Vanuatu
1997 Niue   Niue
1996 Fiji   Fiji